Washington State\'s Veterinary Association Announces Annual Award Winners

Monday, October 26, 2015

SNOQUALMIE, Wash., Oct. 26, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Washington State Veterinary Medical Association (WSVMA) held its Pacific Northwest Veterinary Conference in Tacoma, Wash., Sept. 25-27. Several veterinarians, staff, and citizens were honored at WSVMA's award ceremonies on Saturday, Sept. 26.

Dr. Sandy Willis, internal medicine specialist for Phoenix Central Laboratory in Mukilteo, Wash., received the 2015 Veterinarian of the Year Award. Twice WSVMA president and member of several WSVMA committees and task forces, Dr. Willis lives her passion for the profession. In addition to the WSVMA, Dr. Willis also represents Washington to the American Veterinary Medical Association's (AVMA) House of Delegates and is one of the newest members of their House Advisory Committee. Locally, she volunteers for the Feral Cat Project in Seattle. Dr. Willis, who lives in Tacoma, has provided countless hours of her time along with her enthusiasm to help make the veterinary profession the best place possible for her colleagues to practice medicine.

Dr. Dale Moore was awarded the 2015 WSU Faculty Member of the Year for her dedicated service to veterinarians, veterinary students, farmers and ranchers, and the general public through her work as extension veterinarian at Washington State University's Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health. Dr. Moore serves the veterinary community by developing educational assessments, including needs assessments and educational program evaluation methods. She assists ranchers and farmers by developing new disease-prevention strategies and she serves the public through her work in antibiotic resistance.

The 2015 Distinguished Veterinary Staff award went to Rachel Jensen, licensed veterinary technician, long-time large animal instructional and ICU technician and a key member of the health care delivery and surgical education team at Washington State University's College of Veterinary Medicine. In addition, she is the lead support team member for their clinical communication education group which manages the Clinical Communication Lab and Diagnostic Challenge Education Group. Ms. Jensen, through her dedication and enthusiasm, has enhanced the careers of over hundreds of veterinary graduates.

The WSVMA Humane Animal Welfare award is presented to a non-veterinarian who has advanced animal welfare through extraordinary service. The 2015 award went to Linda Spurlin, founder and director of Stevens County Care, an organization dedicated to reducing feline overpopulation in the northeastern corner of Washington. Through rescuing cats from hoarding situations, trapping and neutering feral cats, holding spay-neuter clinics with the veterinary community, and reaching out to the low income residents of her local area, Ms. Spurlin's compassion and collaboration has accomplished much to save the lives of cats and bring safe, high-quality care to the community.

The WSVMA is a statewide, not-for-profit, professional organization for the benefit of veterinary medicine. The WSVMA has over 1,700 members, representing veterinarians, veterinary students and a broad spectrum of veterinary practice. The Association's mission is "advancing the cause of veterinary medicine to better the lives of those touched by it." Visit the WSVMA Web site, www.wsvma.org, to learn more about the association, veterinary medicine, and animal care.

Media Contact: Candace Joy, Executive Vice President WSVMA, (800) 399-7862, candacejoy@wsvma.org. Photos and contact information of each award winner can be provided upon request.


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/washington-states-veterinary-association-announces-annual-award-winners-300166119.html

SOURCE Washington State Veterinary Medical Association